Will The Other Person See Chat If I Delete Whatsapp Chat?

Will The Other Person See Chat If I Delete Whatsapp Chat
Will The Other Person See Chat If I Delete Whatsapp Chat

This article answers the question Will The Other Person See Chat If I Delete WhatsApp Chat? 

WhatsApp is one of the most used instant messaging app today. WhatsApp keeps evolving as the recent updates come with lots and lots of new features. 

Although, there are some features we believe are still missing. 

Deleting Whatsapp chat is possible. But does it delete from the other person’s chat? We’re about to find out in this article. 

In this article you will learn if the other person will see the chat if you delete the chat conversations. 

Will The Other Person See Chat If I Delete Whatsapp Chat?

If you delete an entire chat conversation on Whatsapp, the other person (recipient) will still see it. 

But if you started a chat conversation and the recipient is probably offline and hasn’t seen the chat yet, when you delete the chat, they won’t be able to see the chat.

Also, if you chatted with someone before and started a new chat conversation with them recently, but they haven’t seen your new chat, the previous chat will remain when you delete the chat.

However, the new chat will disappear and they won’t see it.

If you want to delete a chat without the other user seeing it, well you have to delete it as soon as possible if the person has not seen the chat. 

Moreover, if you don’t want to delete a chat, you can use the WhatsApp archive feature and archive the chat and move it to the archive folder. 

Note: Archived chats are removed from the chat list, but you can access it at any time. 

Deleting a message is different from deleting chat. 

If the person hasn’t seen the message before you deleted it, the person won’t be able to know the content of the message but will know you deleted a message. 

If the person replied to a specific message before you deleted it, their reply will show the content.

Will The Other Person See Chat If I Delete The Chat In Business WhatsApp?

Business WhatsApp may have lots of features that aren’t available in normal WhatsApp Messenger, but the same thing applies to business WhatsApp when you delete a chat. 

Deleted chat will only be deleted from the sender’s and not the recipient. 

When you delete messages, you can remove recent messages for everyone. However, if the person replied to any particular message, their reply will still show the content after you delete the message.

But when you delete older messages, it will only be deleted from the sender’s side. 

This same logic applies to normal WhatsApp Messenger. 

Will The Other Person See Chat If I Delete The Chat In GB WhatsApp?

The same thing applies to those who are using GB WhatsApp and other unofficial or unauthorized WhatsApp. 

But here is the tricky part when you delete a message. 

Deleting a message does not affect the recipient if they are using GB WhatsApp or any other unauthorized WhatsApp app. They can still see the message.

Normal WhatsApp and Business WhatsApp are different. If the person did not see the message before you deleted it, the message disappears for everyone.

But GBWhatsApp users will know you deleted the message and they will still see it.

Whether the person is offline, they will see the message once they are online. 

The only way to turn the tides around if the person has not seen the message is to edit the message instead of deleting it. 

How To Delete WhatsApp Chat

  • Open the WhatsApp app on your phone.
  • On the Chat tab, look for the chat you want to delete
  • Press and hold the chat you want to delete. 
  • Tap Delete. Confirm again and tap Delete Chat

Conclusion

The answer is pretty straightforward, deleting an entire chat from your WhatsApp does not affect the other person. They can still see the chat.

This is the same for Business WhatsApp, Normal WhatsApp and unofficial WhatsApp users.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I Retrieve A Deleted Chat On WhatsApp?

No you can’t retrieve a chat after deleting it on Whatsapp. Once a chat has been permanently deleted, you cannot undo it.

Can I delete a WhatsApp message so the other person can’t see it?

For normal and business WhatsApp, deleting a message before the other person sees it removes the message from their device.

Who can see a deleted chat on WhatsApp?

Only the recipient will be able to see deleted WhatsApp chat. The chat will be permanently deleted from the sender’s.

How do you delete a message on WhatsApp without the person knowing?

To delete a message without a person knowing, you have to use the “Delete for everyone” option when deleting the message. But it must be within a specific timeframe.

FURTHER READING

Was this article helpful?
YesNo
Posted by
Mike Eke

Mike Eke is an experienced writer and blogger in the field of consumer technology with 3 years of hands-on experience. He has been an editor at Techfyba.com from the outset and his focus and key interests are Android, Xiaomi products, Social Media applications, iOS and accessibility as well as consumer technology in general. Mike's articles will provide you with the practical solutions, knowledge and tools you need to stay ahead in the ever-evolving world of technology.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *