Close Menu
  • Social Media
    • Facebook
    • Instagram
    • Snapchat
    • TikTok
    • X (Twitter)
  • Messaging
    • Kik
    • Messenger
    • Telegram
    • WhatsApp
  • Android
  • Browsers
Facebook X (Twitter) Instagram
Facebook X (Twitter) Instagram
TechfybaTechfyba
  • Social Media
    • Facebook
    • Instagram
    • Snapchat
    • TikTok
    • X (Twitter)
  • Messaging
    • Kik
    • Messenger
    • Telegram
    • WhatsApp
  • Android
  • Browsers
TechfybaTechfyba
Home » How To Unsend A Message On Instagram
Instagram

How To Unsend A Message On Instagram

If you have mistakenly sent a message to the wrong person on Instagram but don't know how to delete it. In this article, you will learn how to unsend a message on Instagram.
Khael EkeBy Khael EkeUpdated:1 July 20234 Mins Read
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Telegram LinkedIn Tumblr WhatsApp Email
How To Unsend A Message on Instagram
Share
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Pinterest Telegram Email

Instagram unsend feature is quite a tool that comes in handy when you mistakenly send a message to the wrong person. Or maybe, you sent a message you didn’t mean to someone on Instagram out of anger. 

With the unsend feature you can permanently delete a message from both the sender and the recipient chat screens. 

In this article, we will explain in detail how to unsend a message on Instagram and use it to permanently delete messages. 

Table of Contents

Toggle
  • How Does Unsend Feature Works On Instagram?
  • How To Unsend A Message On Instagram
  • Conclusion
  • Frequently Asked Questions
    • Will Instagram Notify You When Someone Unsend A Message?
    • What Happens When You Unsend A Message On Instagram?
    • Does Unsending A Message On Instagram Delete It?
    • Can I Unsend Older Messages On Instagram?
    • I can’t unsend a message on instagram
    • can you unsend a message on instagram after they read it
    • Can you unsend messages on instagram after being blocked

How Does Unsend Feature Works On Instagram?

Instagram unsend feature is a feature that allows Instagram users to delete messages they sent for everyone in the conversation. 

You can unsend messages you send to other Instagram users without Instagram notifying them of your unsent messages. This is the opposite with Facebook Messenger unsend feature. 

Messages you unsend can still be reported 6 hours after you unsend it. 

Read Also: How To Unsend A Message On Messenger

How To Unsend A Message On Instagram

  1. Open the Instagram app on your mobile device. And then, tap the Message icon at the top right of the screen on your Instagram news feed. 
How To Unsend A Message On Instagram
  1. On the chat screen, tap any chat open the conversation. 
How To Unsend A Message On Instagram
  1. Press and message. Then, tap unsend to delete the message from your chats and the recipient chats. 
How To Unsend A Message On Instagram

The recipient won’t be notified after you unsend a message. 

Unsend is different from the delete feature on Instagram. When you delete message chats from your inbox, the other user will still be able to see the messages. The messages will only be removed for you only. 

On the other hand, messages you unsend will be deleted from everyone’s chat history. 

Also Read: Switch From Instagram Business To Personal Account In 2023

Conclusion

You can unsend your messages at any given time. Instagram’s unsend feature will save you the stress of accidentally sending the wrong messages or say things you don’t mean to someone on Instagram. 

Unsending messages on Instagram can also help fix typo error or you can delete older messages you no longer want to see in your chats. 

Leave a comment if this article was helpful to you. 

Frequently Asked Questions

Will Instagram Notify You When Someone Unsend A Message?

No, you will not be notified when other Instagram users unsend the messages they sent to you. The message will simply disappear from the conversation for both of you.

Unlike Facebook Messenger you will get a message notifications that the person unsent a message.

What Happens When You Unsend A Message On Instagram?

Messages you unsend will be removed from your Direct Message and other Instagram users DMs. Any messages you unsent will be removed from everyone’s chat screen.

Does Unsending A Message On Instagram Delete It?

Yes, when you unsend a message, it will be deleted from your chat screen and the recipient chat screen permanently.

Can I Unsend Older Messages On Instagram?

You can unsend recent and older messages on your Instagram DM at your time of choice.

There is no limit to how many messages you can unsend on Instagram.

I can’t unsend a message on instagram

If you you can’t unsend your message on Instagram, check your internet connection, Restart Instagram, update the app if you’re using an older version, Check of Instagram is down, Clear cache or contact Instagram support team.

can you unsend a message on instagram after they read it

Yes, you can unsend a message after the recipient have seen. You can unsend you messages at anytime.

Can you unsend messages on instagram after being blocked

No, you can do that. Once you’re blocked blocked by someone on Instagram you won’t be able to see their profile, or message them.

FURTHER READING

  • What Is Vanish Mode On Instagram? [Everything You Need Know]
  • How To Turn On Two-Factor Authentication On Instagram
  • This Story Is No Longer Available On Instagram
  • Switch From Instagram Business To Personal Account In 2023
Was this article helpful?
YesNo
Instagram iOS iPhone Social Media
Share. Facebook Twitter Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr Email
Khael Eke
  • Website
  • X (Twitter)
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn

Khael Eke is an experienced writer and blogger in the field of consumer technology with over 4 years of hands-on experience. He has been an editor at Techfyba.com from the outset and his focus and key interests are Android, Xiaomi products, Social Media applications, iOS and accessibility as well as consumer technology in general. Mike's articles will provide you with the practical solutions, knowledge and tools you need to stay ahead in the ever-evolving world of technology.

RECOMMEDNED

Switch From TikTok Personal To Business Account In 2026

0

How To Add A Linktree Link To TikTok 2026

What Does “TY” Mean On Snapchat?

Latest News

Switch From TikTok Personal To Business Account In 2026

How To Add A Linktree Link To TikTok 2026

What Does “TY” Mean On Snapchat?

How To Hide Followers And Following on Instagram 2025 (3 Ways To Do It)

Facebook X (Twitter) Instagram Pinterest
  • About Us
  • Contact Us
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms and Conditions
  • Cookie Policy
© 2026 Techfyba. All right reserved.

Type above and press Enter to search. Press Esc to cancel.

imunify-bot-check